NCGA Kicks Off 2023 Legislative Session With Controversial House Rule

Members of the North Carolina Senate and House of Representatives were sworn in on Wednesday during a mostly ceremonial first day of the 2023 legislative long session. While the 30 Republicans and 20 Democrats in the NC Senate took their oaths of office, re-elected Sen. Phil Berger (R-Rockingham) as Senate President Pro Tempore, and passed their governing rules for the session without much fanfare, it was a different picture in the NC House.