NCASA Awards For Education Leaders

Raymond Sarbaugh Leadership Award

Sarbaugh Leadership Award Recipients

2023 | Ethan Lenker
2022 | Marvin Connelly
             Marcie Holland
2021 | Tabari Wallace
2020 | Patrick Miller
2019 | Jeff Hollamon
2018 | Glenda Jones
             David Hicks
2017 | Frank Till, Jr.
2016 | Dr. Rodney Shotwell
2015 | Dr. Dudley Flood
             Charlie Glazener
2014 | Jo Ann Norris
2013 | Donald L. Martin, Jr. 
2012 | Dr. James Casuby
2011 | Dr. Larry Price
2010 | Mr. Jack Hoke
2009 | Ms. Melisa Jessup

Dr. Ethan Lenker, Superintendent of Pitt County Schools, Awarded 2023 Raymond Sarbaugh Leadership Award

Dr. Ethan Lenker, Superintendent of Pitt County Schools, was awarded the NC Association of School Administrators’ (NCASA) 2023 Raymond Sarbaugh Leadership Award during the NCASA 2023 Conference on Educational Leadership. This award, named in honor of NCASA’s first full-time Executive Director, the late Raymond Sarbaugh, is given annually to an NCASA member who shows outstanding leadership in public school service, as well as a commitment to enhancing and supporting the efforts of fellow school administrators and NCASA. Over his decades of service to North Carolina public schools, Dr. Lenker has distinguished himself as a “leader among leaders” through his tireless dedication to improving public schools and for his support of his school leader colleagues and the thousands of students they serve.

Champion For Children Award

Champion For Children Award Recipients

2023 | Jack Hoke
2022 | NC Sen. Don Davis
2021 | Beverly Emory
            Dr. David Stegall
| NC Rep. Jeffrey Elmore
2019 | Gov. Roy Cooper
2018 | D. Craig Horn
2017 | Hugh Blackwell
2016 | James H. Langdon, Jr. 
2015 | John Dornan
2014 | Ann B. Goodnight
2013 | Linda P. Johnson
2012 | Beverly E. Perdue
2011 | Bill McNeal & June St. Clair Atkinson
2010 | Vernon Malone
2009 | Howard N. Lee
2008 | Rick Glazier
2007 | Douglas Yongue
2006 | James B. Hunt, Jr. & Michael F. Easley

Jack J. Hoke, NCSSA Executive Director, Awarded 2023 Champion For Children Award

Mr. Jack J. Hoke, Executive Director of the NC School Superintendents’ Association (NCSSA), was awarded the 2023 Champion for Children Award during the NC Association of School Administrators’ (NCASA) 2023 Conference on Educational Leadership. The Champion For Children Award, a prestigious honor given annually by NCASA to an individual demonstrating leadership in supporting and enhancing public education, was awarded this year to Mr. Hoke in recognition of over five decades of service as an educator, mentor, and fierce advocate for public schools. While NCASA has historically given this award to a legislator, Governor, or other high-ranking state official, Mr. Hoke received an exceptional outpouring of support for his nomination from school administrators across the state, many of whom continue to rely on Mr. Hoke for his unparalleled guidance and support.

Scroll to Top
Skip to content